Yogeshwar Dutt highest gainers at Pro Wrestling League auction

Olympic medallist Indian grapplers Yogeshwar Dutt and Sushil Kumar were the highest grossers in the Pro Wrestling League auction, held here on Tuesday.

The 2012 Olympics Bronze medallist Yogeshwar, attracting the highest bids, was bought for Rs.39.70 lakh by team Haryana. Sushil went for Rs.38.20 lakh and was snapped up by team Uttar Pradesh.

Yogeshwar and two-time Olympic medallist Sushil were clubbed in the ‘Icon’ category that consisted of six wrestlers. They had a base price of Rs.33 lakh.

The other wrestlers clubbed in the ‘Icon’ category were the home grown Narsingh Yadav, female wrestler Geeta Phogat, star female foreigners American Adeline Gray and Sweden’s Sofia Mattsson.

Narsingh Yadav was bought by team Bengaluru for Rs.34.50 lakh.

Phogat was snapped up by team Punjab at the base price for the ‘Icon’ category.

Gray’s services was bought by team Mumbai for Rs.37 lakh while team Delhi acquired Mattsson for the base price.

Over 50 wrestlers went under the hammer. Six franchises participated in the auction with a purchase capacity of Rs.2 crore each.

The tournament, with a total prize money of Rs.3 crore, will be held from December 10-27 across the bases of the six franchises.

A total of 18 ties will be held during the tournament, 15 among them being league ties, followed by two semi-finals and a final. Each tie comprises of nine bouts and will be played in accordance with the Olympics wrestling rules.

The six teams will each have nine players (five men and four women). Each team can have a maximum of five Indians and four foreigners.

The New Delhi franchise is owned by business group GMR, while the Bengaluru team belongs to the JSW group of companies.

The Punjab franchise is co-owned by veteran Bollywood actor Dharmendra and CDR group while the Uttar Pradesh team was snapped up by real estate company LotusGreens.

The Haryana team has been bought by technology company Olive Global. Maverick Industries and Mafatlal Industries own the Mumbai team.

The tournament will be conducted by ProSPortify, CMD Kartikeya Sharma in association with the Wrestling Federation of India.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s